Recipe

Recipe: Zucchini ‘Hummus’

I absolutely love hummus, it has to be one of my all-time favorite foods, I just can’t get enough of it! It’s just so versatile, from spreading on bread & dipping vegetables to jazzing up your lunchbox & your everyday meals, the possibilities are endless.

When I created this recipe in 2015 I had been unable to indulge my hummus cravings, as I’d been following the candida diet and chickpeas were strictly off the menu, & was forced to find an alternative. This recipe was the answer & finally I could eat something that tasted like my favourite food again. Honestly I like zucchini ‘hummus’ so much I often make it instead of hummus!

It’s also really good for you providing you with a dose of vitamin C, potassium, protein, good fats, B vitamins and lot’s of essential minerals, such as copper. The spices are also great as cumin helps stimulate your digestion, detoxes your system and can help prevent cancer, whilst the tahini aids your blood circulation & protects your nervous system.

I’ve changed the classic hummus formula & as a result the taste & texture is slightly different, but I love it. The taste is deliciously creamy and full of earthy flavours, but it does pack quite a punch, so if you want to tone it down by all means reduce the spices or remove one of the cloves of garlic.

One of the main differences is instead of simply using tahini I’ve also used almond butter, which has many similar qualities to tahini, but by combining the two you get a greater variety of nutrients in your ‘hummus’. Almonds also contain high levels of vitamin E & less saturated fat, & give the dip a wonderfully different flavour & colour! The dip is also completely raw, making it quick & easy to prepare & it’s suitable for gluten free, vegan, dairy free diets. It could also be made FODMAP friendly by omitting the garlic & using a greater quantity of tahini instead of almond butter.

So here is the recipe and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Zucchini ‘Hummus’ (should make two large portions or 4 small portions)

Ingredients

1 large zucchini / courgette (sliced and quartered)

The juice of half a medium lemon

1tsp cumin

1 tsp hot chilli powder

1/4 cup almond butter (shop bought or homemade)

1/4 cup tahini

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 cloves of garlic

1 tsp sea salt

 

Method

  1. Place everything into a food processor (use a high powered one such as a Vitamix if you are able, but it will work just as well without you’ll just need more patience!) & place on high speed until it is smooth & creamy (if it is slightly thin you might need to add more zucchini), you might have to scrape around between pulses to make sure it’s thoroughly mixed.
  1. To serve drizzle with some oil and sprinkle cumin / chilli on the top for decoration.

 

It really is that quick & simple, & tastes so delicious you’ll never eat store bought hummus again! I love to serve mine with chicken on homemade gluten free vegan bread or with deliciously roasted/ raw vegetables, but it will be delicious however you decide to serve it.

Hope you enjoy it and let me know how you get on.

Louise x

P.S. I’ve also experimented with replacing the oil with beetroot juice, omitting the lemon & one clove of garlic, & using peanut butter instead of tahini.

NutritionLabel(3)

Save

Leave a Reply

